Celtic Solstice 5 miler

Today was my last race of the 2013. While it’s only my second time running this race, it’s a lot of fun. It has a great vibe, awesome premium and good location. To be honest I had no real goals going into this race, other then finishing and not dying. I hadn’t run in over a week and half and the time before that, it was lame. I knew if I ran ok, I would probably get close to what I had run last year. These were my only thoughts going into the race.

Race morning was pretty typical. Since both Ben and I were running, so we had to get the kids to my dads so he could watch them. I am so grateful that he was able to do this and can do this for us.  Since the race is in Druid hill park, my dad’s house is about a mile and half away, we run there. It’s so much easier to do this then trying to find a parking space.  While it was cold it wasn’t to bad, but I was was over dressed for myself.  I did try out my first ear warmer while running and it was awesome.  The quick run over the the buses got me warmed up and felt nice to get myself moving. The race was to start at 8:30 and we go to the start around 8:15, we got our timing chips and headed to the start.

So many runners in such a small space. Ben was able to see a coworker and we went relatively towards the front knowing it could really slow us down.  While we aren’t fast runners, we can hang for a little bit 😉 since I hadn’t run I knew I had to keep myself in check. Miles 1-3 were pretty good. I was keeping a good pace, I was thankful for the water stop and grabbed some water and a short walk break.  By mile 3.5 I was just hoping for it to be over. By mile 4 I said to my self I can do anything for 10 minutes, I just knew I wasn’t running a 10 min mile but I kept going. Bens watched beeped indicting we had half mile to go and he took off and I though I can do anything for 5 more minutes. I usually try and keep a little something for the last bit but I didn’t have much. I saw the clock and was happy to see it was at 50 mins, I could have done it. I crossed the finishing mat and then looked at my watch. While my watch read the course was long I had my sub 50!  I was happily surprised to see this! I found Ben, got a picture of him with a coworker and we got one and it was back to my dads, my dad needed to get some place so we didn’t get to enjoy the post race food or the wassail they had. While my legs were dead from running hard, the walk/ run back helped me loosen up.

Overall  I really am pleased with how the race turned out. It’s a race I will continue to do each year. It made me appreciate what my body is capable of . It also tells me if I train well I can run well and I need to do this so I get the results I want.
image image

So I know I have got a lot of work on. Do races give you perspective?

2 Comments

  1. Awesome! Don’t sell yourself short, that course is HILLY! It’s a fun one though. Next year I will be running it! I will sign up early and just be done with it. LOL!

    Great job on the sub-50! I bow down to you! 🙂

    • Thanks Chris! Yes, do it! Hopefully we have a chance to meet before then though 🙂

Leave a Reply

